Close button

magdas HOTEL


Think commercially. Act responsibly.

magdas HOTEL is Austria's first social business hotel and part of the magdas social business group founded by Caritas of the Archdiocese of Vienna in 2012. The aim of the entire group is to resolve social issues where this seems both possible and expedient. In magdas HOTEL people from all over the world come together. Ten people with refugee experience are trained in hotel and restaurant professions.

 

Obtaining work in Austria is still a difficult task for people with refugee experience. Initial difficulties with the German language, resentment on the part of many employers and the fact that only after receiving a positive asylum decision (which can often take months or even years) it is difficult to integrate. We are convinced that it is precisely those people who move from abroad that strengthen the hotel business because they bring in a number of skills, talents, languages and cultural backgrounds and thus enable a special positioning on the hotel market. The experience since our opening in February 2015 proves us right.

We do the best we can. Only better.

The renovation of the former Caritas retirement home was financed with 57,306 euros from a crowdfunding campaign and a five-year loan from Caritas in the amount of 1.5 million euros. In order to make do with these rather lean amount for a hotel conversion, recycling and upcycling was used. With the architectural firm AllesWirdGut and artist Daniel Büchel, existing items such as the built-in cupboards of the former retirement home were dismantled and converted into tables, lamps and benches in the only nine-month renovation phase. Numerous donated pieces complement the unique interior of the magdas HOTEL.

Old doors were turned into new mirrors, discarded suitcase storage shelves became wardrobes and bisected armchairs transformed to bedside tables. Volunteers knitted lampshades, worked on the gardens and lent a hand wherever needed. The furnishings of the hotel has been supplemented by numerous donations in kind, as well as by appropriated furniture from the CARLA shops, proving that commitment, flexibility and good ideas can make up for limited funds. In 2015, magdas HOTEL was rewarded for its outstanding achievements with the Austrian State Prize for Design.

10 facts about magdas HOTEL.

First social business hotel in Austria

Opening on February 14th, 2015

Training focus for recognized refugees, 15 hotel professionals, ten apprentices

Central and quiet location, nearby Vienna Prater

16 nations, more than 20 spoken languages

78 rooms in five categories, 60% with own balcony, three wheelchair accessible rooms

pepped-up furniture: vintage, creatively upcycled, designed by artists

magdas SALON with bar & lounge, terrace, library

well met: meeting rooms for up to 30 people

well partied: function rooms for bigger groups

Close button

magdas HOTEL


Wirtschaftlich denken. Sozial handeln.

magdas HOTEL ist Österreichs erstes Social Business Hotel und Teil der von der Caritas der Erzdiözese Wien 2012 gegründeten Social Business Gruppe magdas. Ziel der gesamten Gruppe ist es soziale Fragen, wo immer es sinnvoll und möglich ist, unternehmerisch zu lösen. In magdas HOTEL kommen Menschen aus aller Welt zusammen und zehn Menschen mit Fluchterfahrung werden in Gastronomie- und Hotellerieberufen ausgebildet.

Für Menschen mit Fluchterfahrung ist es in Österreich nach wie vor schwierig Arbeit zu finden. Anfängliche Schwierigkeiten mit der deutschen Sprache, Ressentiments vieler ArbeitgeberInnen sowie der Umstand, dass erst nach Erhalt eines positiven Asylbescheids (was oft Monate oder sogar Jahre dauern kann) die Aufnahme einer Arbeit erlaubt ist, erschweren die Integration. Wir sind überzeugt, dass gerade jene Menschen, die aus dem Ausland zuziehen, den Hotelbetrieb stärken, da sie etliche Fähigkeiten, Talente, Sprachen und kulturelle Backgrounds einbringen und damit eine besondere Positionierung am Hotelmarkt ermöglichen. Die Erfahrungen seit unserer Eröffnung im Februar 2015 geben uns Recht.

Wir machen das Beste daraus. Nur besser.

Der Umbau des ehemaligen Caritas-Seniorenhauses wurde mit 57.306 Euro aus einer Crowdfunding-Aktion, sowie einem auf fünf Jahre angelegten Kredit der Caritas in Höhe von 1,5 Millionen Euro finanziert . Um mit diesen für einen Hotelumbau sehr überschaubaren Mitteln auszukommen wurde auf Re- und Upcycling gesetzt. Mit dem Architekturbüro AllesWirdGut und Künstler Daniel Büchel wurde in der nur neunmonatigen Umbauphase Bestehendes, wie etwa die Einbauschränke des ehemaligen Seniorenheimes, zerlegt und zu Tischen, Lampen und Bänken umfunktioniert. Zahlreiche gespendete Stücke ergänzen das einzigartige Interieur im magdas HOTEL.

Aus alten Türen wurden neue Spiegel, aus ausrangierten Kofferablagen Garderoben, aus halbierten Sesseln Nachtkästchen. Freiwillige HelferInnen strickten Lampenschirme, bearbeiteten den Garten und legten Hand an, wo immer es nötig war. Sachspenden, sowie Möbel aus den CARLA-Läden der Caritas ergänzen die Hotelausstattung und beweisen, dass Engagement, Flexibilität und gute Ideen geringe finanzielle Mittel allemal wettmachen. 2015 wurde magdas HOTEL mit dem Österreichischen Staatspreis für Design ausgezeichnet.

10 Fakten über magdas HOTEL

1. Social Business Hotel in Österreich

Eröffnung am 14. Februar 2015

Ausbildungsschwerpunkt für anerkannte Flüchtlinge, 15 Hotel-Profis, zehn Lehrlinge

Zentral und ruhig gelegen, direkt am Wiener Prater

16 Nationen, mehr als 20 gesprochene Sprachen

78 Zimmer in fünf Kategorien, 60% mit eigenem Balkon, drei rollstuhlgerechte Zimmer

„aufgemöbelte“ Einrichtung: Vintage, kreativ upgecycelt, von KünstlerInnen gestaltet

magdas SALON mit Bar & Lounge, Terrasse, Bibliothek

Gut getagt: Seminarräume für bis zu 30 Personen

Gut gefeiert: Veranstaltungsräume für größere Gruppen