• magdas
    equals opportunity

    magdas creates jobs for people
    with limited job opportunities.

.

magdas philosophy

magdas Philosophie

magdas lives social business

magdas demonstrates that commercial success and social responsibility are not a contradiction in terms. With our social business enterprises we create meaningful jobs and opportunities for individuals who have little or sometimes even no chance of finding a job. This is also appreciated by our customers. Not only do they receive a good product or high-quality service, but also act socially responsible. At magdas we prove that things can be done differently.

magwas founded by Caritas of the Archdiocese of Vienna in April 2012 with the entrepreneurial objective of solving social issues where this seems both possible and expedient. The concept of social business was established by Nobel Prize Winner Muhammad Yunus: profits are reinvested in the business, and funding is only accepted if also available to private businesses. Our projects are economically self-sustaining and their ultimate goal is and remains solving a social challenge.

 

 

The strengths and talents of our employees are our greatest asset, their social inclusion our profit. We want people to live self determined lives, and devise ways to the labour market for the long-term unemployed, disabled and people of foreign background.

We believe the concept of social business complements the existing range of services offered by social organizations. This is one of many approaches to tackle the challenges currently faced by the welfare state on the one hand, and the profit-driven market system on the other.

Social business begins where conventional business models end and means investing in areas in which other businesses are economizing.

.

 

magdas in numbers

115

Employees working for
magdas social business.

50 %

Employees with
limited job opportunities

21.676

Overnight guests at
magdas HOTEL

25

Volunteers
at magdas HOTEL

450.000

Mobile phones collected and recycled

139

Lampshades knitted and crocheted

1.450

Retirement home residents
served daily

• magdas
    als Chance.

    magdas schafft Arbeitsplätze für
    Menschen mit geringeren Jobchancen. 

  • magdas
    als Chance.

    magdas schafft Arbeitsplätze für
    Menschen mit geringeren Jobchancen. 

  • magdas
    als Chance.

    magdas schafft Arbeitsplätze für
    Menschen mit geringeren Jobchancen. 

  • magdas
    als Chance.

    magdas schafft Arbeitsplätze für
    Menschen mit geringeren Jobchancen. 

  • Magdas Social Busines

    magdas
    als Chance.

    magdas schafft Arbeitsplätze für
    Menschen mit geringeren Jobchancen. 

.

magdas Philosophie

magdas Philosophie

magdas mag Social Business

magdas zeigt, dass wirtschaftlicher Erfolg und soziales Handeln kein Widerspruch sind. Mit unseren Social Business-Unternehmen kreieren wir sinnstiftende Arbeitsplätze und schaffen Chancen für Menschen, die geringe, ja manchmal keine Chancen auf einen Job haben. Das freut auch unsere Kundinnen und Kunden: Weil sie nicht nur ein gutes Produkt oder eine hochwertige Dienstleistung bekommen, sondern gleichzeitig auch soziale Verantwortung zeigen. Wir mit magdas zeigen: Es geht auch anders.

magdas wurde von der Caritas der Erzdiözese Wien im April 2012 mit dem Ziel gegründet, soziale Fragen dort, wo es sinnvoll und möglich erscheint, unternehmerisch zu lösen. Der Social-Business-Gedanke geht auf Nobelpreisträger Muhammad Yunus zurück: Keine Gewinne, die nicht reinvestiert werden. Keine Förderungen, die nicht auch jedem anderen privaten Unternehmen offenstehen. Unsere Projekte tragen sich wirtschaftlich selbst und ihr oberstes Unternehmensziel ist und bleibt die Lösung einer sozialen Herausforderung.

 

 

Die Stärken und Talente unserer MitarbeiterInnen sind dabei unser Kapital, ihre gesellschaftliche Teilhabe der Gewinn. Es geht um Selbstbestimmung und darum, langzeitarbeitslosen Personen, Menschen mit Behinderung oder etwa MigrantInnen den Zugang zum Arbeitsmarkt zu ermöglichen.

Wir glauben, dass das Konzept des Social Business als Ergänzung zum bestehenden Leistungsspektrum sozialer Organisationen eine mögliche Antwort auf die aktuellen Herausforderungen des Wohlfahrtsstaates einerseits und des gewinnorientierten Marktsystems andererseits darstellen kann.

Social Business beginnt dort, wo gewöhnliche Geschäftsmodelle enden und bedeutet dort zu investieren, wo andere Unternehmen sparen.

.

magdas in Zahlen

115

MitarbeiterInnen beschäftigt
das magdas social business.

50 %

MitarbeiterInnen mit
geringeren Jobchancen

21.676

Nächtigungsgäste in
magdas HOTEL

25

Freiwillige HelferInnen
in magdas HOTEL

450.000

gesammelte und
verwertete Handys

139

gestrickte und gehäkelte
Lampenschirme

1.450

BewohnerInnen
der Seniorenhäuser täglich bekocht